Leg before wicket. LBW LBW is a bit like the offside rule in football
— many people claim to know it, but how many really do? Our handy checklist means that, whether you
find yourself umpiring an international test match, or the kids on the beach — your reputation
for fairness will remain intact. There are 5 basic criteria to consider… The batsman is out LBW if: One: the bowler bowls a ball that isn’t a
no ball…(unlike this poor fellow…) Two: the ball, if it is not intercepted on
the full, pitches in line between wicket and wicket, or on the off side of the batsman’s
wicket. (It cannot be out if the ball pitches outside the line of the leg stump.) Three: the ball hits the batsman, either full
pitch or after pitching and before he hits it with his bat… Four: This is where it gets a bit more complicated.
If the batsman was making a genuine attempt to play the ball, the point of impact must
be between wicket and wicket for LBW to be an option. However, if the batsman has made
no genuine attempt to play the ball, the contact must either be between wicket and wicket or
outside the line of the off stump. Five: This is the crucial part — but for
the interception by
the batsman, the ball would have gone on to hit the stumps. Any questions ? — just refer to Law 36 in
the blue book.