Essential Table Tennis Rules | PingSkills


Welcome to PingSkills lessons, we are here
to talk about some of the rules. On our website you will be able to download some of the important
rules and we are going to through a few of the common questions for you now.
We are going to play some points now and just give you an idea of how you can win a point
in table tennis. So there is a few main ways, If Jeff and I are playing a rally we start
with a serve and Jeff has to hit the ball over onto my side straight after that.
Very good. If Jeff hits the ball and I don’t let it bounce
then that’s Jeff’s point straight away. There is no volleying in table tennis. Another way
that Jeff could win the point is if I hit the ball and it doesn’t land on the table.
Or if I hit the ball and it goes into the net. So the basic rule in table tennis is
really simple, I’ve got to hit the ball onto Jeff’s side, when Jeff hits it onto my side
I left it bounce once and then hit it back onto his side.
The only tricky rule in table tennis is the one about volleying it after it goes of the
end of the table. So if you just remember this rule, if Jeff hit’s the ball and it goes
out past the table it’s my point. Even if I hit the ball on the full once it has gone
past the table. So that’s my point because the ball is already out.
Okay so what happens if the ball hits the net? So if the ball hits the net and goes
over during play, so we’ve hit a few shots, so Jeff and I are playing a rally the balls
bounced a few times I hit it and it hits the net and goes over, that’s in play and Jeff
needs to try and get that ball. However if that ball hits the net and goes
over on a serve, So I served it Hits my side and touches the net and goes over that’s a
let and that when we stop and replay the point. Okay so when your serving and that happens
how many lets can you get in a row before it’s a fault. You never ever lose the point
for serving a let so even if I serve 28 lets in a row that still a let and we still need
to replay the point. Excellent
When we are playing a match what are the basic rules like what score do we play to. Now we
play games up to 11 points. And we take it in turns we have two serves each at a time.
So Jeff would serve for the first two points I serve for the next two points, and so on
until someone wins the game. the only variation on that is if the score gets to ten points
each, so Jeff was ten and I’m ten then we alternate serves one serve at a time until
someone gets two points ahead. Okay Alois another question that we get regularly
is what size bat is legal in table tennis. Most players use a bat around this big, however
you are allowed to use any size bat that you like. If you want you can use a bat this big,
good luck because it takes a bit of hitting but you are also allowed to use a bat this
big or even bigger. the reason the players don’t use a bat this big is because this gets
way to heavy and it’s way to hard to move around quickly.
One common question is, is the ball in or out if the ball hits the side of the table.It’s
out so the table has to hit the top of the table to be in. Anywhere on the top of the
table is in even if it just snicks the edge of the table it’s in but if the ball hits
on the side of the table down here that out. The only time that’s really happened is if
it’s hit from outside the line of the table. Okay from a wide angle. So if they play the
ball from right out here then it has a chance of hitting the side. Otherwise if it hits
the table its mostly likely going to be in. Another question people have is when their
playing are they allowed to touch the table, or are they allowed to lean on the table.
What are the rules about that? the only part of your body that isn’t allowed
to touch the table is your free hand so I’m a left hander so I”m not allowed to touch
the table with my right hand. If I do that that’s jeff’s point. but I’m allowed to put
my body against the table that’s fine as long as you don’t move the table at all. So if
I do that and move the table even a little bit that’s Jeff’s point.
So as long as you don’t move it and keep your free hand of the table.
Another question is how many faults are you allowed before you lose the point, as soon
as you make a mistake with your serve you lose the point. You don’t get a double fault
like you do in tennis perhaps any mistake with your serve is the other persons point.
We might just go through the rules of doubles now Jeff because people often get a bit confused
about who serves and where you serve to. So in doubles there are three extra rules. First
rule is you have to take it in turns to hit. So if I hit the ball first I have to get out
of the way and Jeff has to hit the next one. So that’s rule number one always take it in
turns. The second rule is about serving you always serve from your right hand box diagonally
to your opponents right hand box. You never ever serve from the left hand box in doubles
so its always from the right hand box. That’s rule number two. The third rule is related
to when you need to swap over so I serve my two serves to you don’t forget that both my
serves go to you so one doesn’t go to you and one to your partner. I serve both my serves
to you. After I finish my two serves to you Jeff and I swap, so the only time you swap
positions is after your team finishes your two serves. After we serve then its your turn
to serve and you would serve two serves to Jeff. After you and your partner have finished
your to serves you would swap over and Jeff’s turn to serve. So the serving order is that
I would serve two serves to you, you would serve two serves to Jeff, Jeff would serve
to to your partner, and then your partner would serve two to me. And that pattern is
repeated until the end of the game. If you have enjoyed our lessons then you decide how
much you pay for them go along to our website and if you really like them then make a contribution
otherwise there free, so enjoy.

100 thoughts on “Essential Table Tennis Rules | PingSkills

  1. @WideLegoWorld WHEN U SERVE AND UR ball hits the net AND FALLS ON UR OPPONENTS SIDE is a net serve u ll get another chance to serve…but when u serve and ur ball hits the net and falls on ur side u ll lose points for that..

  2. @pingskills yeah i have 🙂 thanks for the tips . i know longer have arguments with my friends over the rules ( i still always win)

  3. @TheThealbanianking only for doubles, where you always have to serve from the right half to your opponents right half.

    However in singles you can serve from anywhere to anywhere.

  4. @Exoudar Bigger doesn't mean it's better.
    XDDD

    This is perfect for average bats.
    Oh… Average penis size is great too!

  5. Sir
    about the "oversize" racket, we can use any size of racket's but
    "Ordinary pimpled rubber evenly distributed over its surface at a density of not
    less than 10 per sq. cm and not more than 30 per sq. cm."

    can u comment on that. Tq

  6. After the serve, and during a rally, do you have to let the ball bounce on the table before you hit it or can you hit it back over while in flight (before it bounces)?

    THANK YOU!!!! GREAT VIDEO!!!!

  7. @MyHeartBurns234 We call these short serves, and they are certainly allowed. A short and low serve is a very effective way of stopping your opponent from making a strong attack against your serve.

  8. @Jrollzz We did explain it in the video but that's OK. As long as people are asking questions then it shows they are interested in Table Tennis. And that is one of the things we are hoping to achieve. We want to get more and more people loving Table Tennis and help them improve.

  9. @ZeDuBreju No you can't. The rules state that you must have 1 black and 1 red rubber. The rule was introduced to lessen the effect of anti-spin rubbers. We have had a few questions about this on our Ask the Coach section of our website. If you search through there you will find some interesting discussion about it.

  10. thanks it helped me a lot about my studies in table tennis! and im starting to like this sport thank you very much!

    ARIGATOU GOZAIMAS…

  11. This place looks like Albert park in Melbourne. Used to play there. Just starting to come back to it again. Great video.

  12. @montygod We are improving the quality of our DVDs as we progress. We are now using a microphone which improves the sound quality and we are also filming in widescreen. However the feedback that we generally get is that the content is what is important and that people find Alois' coaching style easy to understand.

  13. i have two questions,

    is there any restriction during the SERVE, that the ball should not go out of the side lines (right side or left side of the board) on the opponent court? or in other words, the ball should be constrained within the side line until it moves out of the table on the opponent side?

    Second question is, again during the SERVE, is there any restriction that the ball should be fast enough so that the ball should not bounce twice on the opponent side ?

    Please answer!

  14. @knpradeep77 The answer to both questions is no. The ball can go out wide past the edges of the table before passing the end line and the ball can be served short so that it will bounce twice on the table. In fact serving the ball short is a great way to stop your opponent from playing a strong attack off your serve.

  15. @JackyShew95 dint u see the answer from pingskills? serve is still legal if the ball bounce twice on the opponent court, and the server will get point if the opponent fails to return before the second bounce

  16. As we explain in the video, in singles the middle line is of no use. You can serve from anywhere to anywhere.

  17. During service, if the player accidentally serves the ball onto the edge of the table and it doesn't go over. Is it a point for the opponent? Also if it hits the edge but is still able to hit the opponent's side, is it still in play?

  18. If the ball doesn't go over the server loses the point. If it hits the edge but still goes over then the ball is in play!

  19. It's 2 serves each. The lead does not matter. If the score gets to 10 all then it is one serve each until one person wins by 2 points.

  20. You need to throw the ball up at least 6 inches from the palm of your hand. You also need to throw the ball up from above the level of the table.

  21. As soon as you throw the ball up it is in play. This means if you don't hit it or you don't hit the ball onto the table, it is a fault and you lose the point.

  22. I was surprised with the bat size rule, why is it that no one uses a bigger bat like how tennis players use oversized headed rackets?

  23. Because if it is too big it is hard to move around. It seems that the ideal size is not too large. Generally the problem is not to do with the bat being too small.

  24. What is the brand and name of the oversized bat in the video?? i have been looking for one that sized and have not been able to find one! Please help!

  25. What is the brand and name of the oversized bat in the video?? i have been looking for one that sized and have not been able to find one! Please help!

  26. There are no rules regarding where you have to hit the ball in singles and players do try and hit the ball away from the other player. The only time they don't is during the warm up when they play forehand to forehand and then backhand to backhand. However during a match anything goes.

  27. As soon as you throw the ball up, it is in play so if you don't serve it legally, you will lose the point. It doesn't matter if you hit it or not, it still counts.

  28. nice video, but could you please explain the rules for how to serve? I ask this question because in the London 2012 olympics, Ding Ning of China was faulted for her serves and i was curious on the specifics of these rules in a demonstration.

  29. the serve which as top spin can be done by the given the tips
    the serve where we have to place the ball can be judged by the tips
    we all knew that table tennis is very tough .
    so all can see that and can know it

    goooooood but not bad

  30. I had a question about the rule at 1:44, Almost all of my friends play that if A hits it and its going out and B hits it with their paddle, that it is A's point because i hit it, i was wondering why everyone played like that and who out of you two were wrong.

  31. The rule used to be as your friends mentioned a long time ago. But now the rule is exactly as explained in the video.

  32. How will you be using it? You can embed this in a website. Or you can use the information from it in a written project. That is fine.

  33. hey what if the ball hit my area and then the ball goes back to my opponent's area?? who is that point for?? can I go and hit the ball before it hits the other area?? please answer me!!

  34. Hi Pingskills,

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to make and upload the video. I enjoyed learning from it.

  35. i still have a question:
    if you serve. should the ball always bounce once on the other code even if my opponent dosent picks it?

  36. Hi! Can I have a copy of this video? I'll just use it in my Class Presentation. I cn't download it. Thanks.

  37. Hi i am a beginerI hav a Qn. will I score a point if the ball pitches in the opponent's side 'twice'?

  38. Very clearly explained, excellent job! Too bad for the poor sound quality, but there are captions that help. Other than that, the video explains the rules in a very straight forward manner, easy to remember by anyone. One thing I would have liked to learn is related to serving in single games – is there any rule regarding the side where your serve should be initiated or where it should land (as with a double game)?
    And how do you decide who starts serving the first ball? Coin flipping?
    Also, should players switch serving after each game (e.g. if we play 3 out of 5) or should the winner of the previous game serve the first ball of the next game?

  39. I have just had a look at the Ping skill rules as directed by Jeff in one of your other videos, and I've found it helpful. In fact I will be printing it out and pasting on the wall where i play, as a guide for us.

    a couple of areas are however not clear to me from the list and I had to post them here since this is a more appropriate video for tennis rules questions (sorry for my repeat questioning, though):

    "Q: Can you hit the ball before it bounces on your side of the table?

    A: If the ball is still in play, (over the table) and you hit it on the full you lose the point. If the ball has gone past the table and you hit it on the full you win the point. The first mistake counts i.e. the ball going out of play on the full. Either way as soon as someone hits the ball on the full the point stops."

    What's this all about? 'over the table', 'past the table'…uh? I thought that once an opponent fails to land a ball on my table, I win the point – irrespective of whether i made an attempt to hit the ball outside the table.

    Also, somewhere in the List of Rules I found this:

    "Unless the rally is a let, a player SCORES A POINT if the ball, after he has served or returned it, touches anything other than the net assembly before being hit by his opponent"

    * my confusion is on the clause 'touches anything'

    pls help…

  40. Very cleared. However, I wondered if i hit backspin to my opponent area and it bounce back to mine without allowing he or she to hit the balls. Who wins the point? Should I hit it again? Thanks.

  41. Thanks for going over the rules, that cleared up some arguments for us. The only thing I didnt like about your video is that you guys sit on the table several times. We just bought a table and it is difficult to get people not to slam the paddles on the table after losing a point, leaning over the table and scraping the paddle as they retrieve the ball that hit the net. The tables are not for sitting on, they are to play the game on.

  42. Must the serve cross the receiving sides end line after the bounce or can it double (or more) bounce if not returned? Also, when serving, — assuming everything is done legally — can the ball bounce once on the receiving side and then immediately exit the side of the table crossing the side lines short of the end line?

  43. If I moved the table or my free hand touched the table, do I have to stop the game or continue play with loosing points to the opponent? 

    And what do mean by replay the point (when the ball hits the net on a serve)?

  44. Hi Nur Syamimi Azizan,

    When you move the table, the current point is awarded to your opponent and you keep playing the point.

    When you serve a let, you stop the point but no one gets awarded the point, then you serve again, that is what we mean by replaying the point. I hope that helps clear up your questions.

  45. Hi guys , good day
    I like to know if the ball hit your hand by accident (the one with the racket) and manages to be a good return, is that legal?
    Thanks again you guys are great

  46. Thank you so much for the rules…I want to ask one thing ..when playing singles..do I have to "Cross Serve"? or straight?
    and after the first serve do I have to serve from the other part((left half))of my area?
    Thank you 🙂

  47. if our bat or raquets touches the table while playing table tennis is it allowed???
    please comment and anwser yes or no Alois or jeff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *